Nairobi Here I Come!

It’s finally happening!! In 11 days I’m flying out of DC and returning to Nairobi, Kenya as a missionary!! As many of you might know, I have been raising support for the last several months in order to return to Kenya. My current project is to teach and work at Carlile College. Since they don’t pay me a salary, I’ve been meeting with friends, family, churches, and sharing what I’ll be doing in Nairobi, and things have finally come together.

Since I have been out of the US for the last three years doing my MDiv, and out of the Maryland area for the last seven years, finding a sending church proved a bit tricky. At last, however, I have one: the Mid Atlantic Community Church in Crofton. The pastor there, Lew Schrumm was my boss when I worked at Sears in high school…he actually interviewed me and hired me for my first official job when I was 16! Sometimes at work we would discuss theology and he would talk about his dream to retire and plant a church to foster genuine fellowship and impact the community…and now 9 years later that dream is a reality! Back in 2004 I actually attended a few of the planning meetings for the MACC, and even attended their very first service. Last week I met with their missions committee, and they have agreed to send me out to serve in Kenya. This is a huge answer to prayer and I’m so glad it worked out!

So now I’m preparing to leave, saying goodbye to my friends here and planning what I should pack, etc. Once I arrive in Nairobi one of my first objectives will be to find housing, so for all my Nairobi friends, if you have any leads on good housing, please let me know! I’m so excited to be heading back, and this is such a powerful evidence to me of God’s faithfulness. I could have evaluated this situation as impossible, looking at the economic conditions, that people told me giving is down, not being certain about a sending church, not having spent much time in the US the last few years…but God is greater than all of that! He has promised to always be with us.

I thank God for this provision. Currently, I’m about 80% funded, with a few hundred a month remaining to be fully funded. Adding only a few new monthly supporters could easily bring that to 100%…and starting ministry in Kenya fully funded would be a huge blessing. Since I’ve announced I’m returning to Kenya, I’ve already added a few new supporters, so I am even more excited about the possibility of having all my funds committed! If you’d like to contribute, that can be done online at www.cten.org/bawks. It could also be mailed to: CTEN, PO Box 291307, Kerrville, TX 78029-1307. Thank you so much!

If would like to receive updates, please email me at davidbawks@cten.org. I’d love to hear from you!

Prayer Requests

  • Thank God for all these details coming together!
  • Safe travels
  • Housing for when I return to Nairobi
  • Settling into my new role at Carlile College
  • Serving the Lord in all aspects of my life
One thought on “Nairobi Here I Come!

  1. This is so exciting, David. Wish you all the best as you move back to Kenya. Hope to be able to visit you one day… though realistically speaking it will take a little while :-S Pray that all the logistics will go well and you’ll have a good experience settling in in your new duties in Kenya.

Leave a Reply

